The Isles of the Sea

So this week has been crazy. I think I’ve felt every emotion that is possible to feel. So happy and so sad and so stressed and so upset because we have found so many amazing people that I won’t get to see progress! But it’s fine. I am so thankful for the AMAZING blessing and opportunity I’ve had to serve here. I know people always say “I served in the best mission FOR ME” but no I’ve served in the best mission and I know it. I have had the best areas and served with the best people and I have had the time of my life. I am sorry for everyone that unfortunately hasn’t served here.

Literally leaving is breaking my heart into a million pieces. I couldn’t even look at my PMG (Preach My Gospel)this morning without tearing up. I have LOVED being a missionary with all my heart. I have loved Japan and its people with all my heart. They have been such an amazing example to me of Christlike service. God promises ‘I will be on your right hand and on your left, and my Spirit shall be in your hearts, and mine angels round about you, to bear you up.’ and he truly has done that through the AMAZING sweet baby angels I have served with.

It says in 2 Nephi 10, ‘But great are the promises of the Lord unto them who are upon the isles of the sea.’ And I can testify that is true. I Lord loves his Japanese (that’s why he made so many of them) and he loves me, that is why is allowed me to come and serve with these people. When I first got my call I didn’t want to come to Japan but the moment I got here I fell in love and that love has gotten deeper ever since.

I LOVE being a missionary. I am so blessed to wear Christ name on my chest everyday, even though I don’t feel like I always live up to it. I have learned SO MUCH. I have come to know that God the Father, Jesus Christ, and the Holy Ghost are three separate beings with one purpose. I know because I have a relationship with each of them. Their purpose is my purpose. To bring back souls! He wants our hearts! And that is all we can give. Because they love us so much they appeared to Joseph Smith so we could have a way to return. He gave us the Book of Mormon! THE GREATEST THING EVER. Literally the only reason I have made it through the last 18 months is because of the power of the BOM. It has changed my life. It can change yours too.

It is hard to sum 18 months in on email but I am so grateful for it all. Those I have served, those that have served me, everything. I am so blessed. And I will never forsake.

He Lives!
Fritchen Shimai
See you on the other side!


This is Courtney’s last blog from the mission. In just 7 hours from right now she will get on the first flight from Fukuoka to Tokyo then Seattle then Sacramento arriving Friday May 5th at 5:20 PM. It has been my pleasure to post her emails and pictures each week. I now turn this blog over to her. Court, we are very proud of you for all you have done. Travel safe and see you on this side. Love, Dad.


Leave a Reply

