BYOR/OBGYN

This week has been crazy! So Wednesday we had Sister Snow stay with us because her companion was training and it was so fun! We bought 30 dollar pizza over the phone and went to another area to do their Eikaiwa so it was crazy and way fun.
Thursday sister Torgerson (misspelled last week) got here in the evening.

170326-2

Friday I understood what the gift of tongues is. So, Sister Torgerson needed to see a doctor so I was like okay let’s go, not even thinking to ask a member to go with us. We have a hospital next door to our apartment so we go there and they are asking me questions and I am somehow understanding and responding to them. Then we are sitting in the waiting room and like I had wondered what kind of hospital we were in then we go in and sit down for a consultation and the I explain what’s going on and the nurse is like “this is a gynecologist” and I about lost it. One it was the most embarrassing moments ever but also so ridiculously hilarious. It is the most “sister Fritchen” thing you could do. But then they referred us to another hospital so we went there. It was so fun! I got to play translator and doctor all in one day!

Then Saturday we had a relief society activity and the gift of tongues didn’t come in for that one. So, we are sitting there and bending hangers and tying ribbon and I had no idea what was going on and they we finished and I was like so what is this? And they were like it’s for cleaning! So, we spent about an hour making fancy dusters at the most Japan party I have ever been to. It was a BYOR #bringyourownrice

Any way this week I have been thinking about the scripture

“by small and simple things are great things brought to pass; and small means in many instances doth confound the wise. And the Lord God doth work by means to bring about his great and eternal purposes; and by very small means the Lord doth confound the wise and bringeth about the salvation of many souls.”

So, in my setting apart blessing it says that big changes come by small steps which I feel like is basically a sum up of this scripture. It really is by the small things. It’s been by learning a couple words each day that I’ve been able to speak Japanese and by reading the Book of Mormon that I’ve been able to get out of bed each day at 6:30 and make it until 10:30 at night. And I am just so weak but god can still work through such imperfect tools! I am so grateful! It has been one of the most helpful things I have learned on my mission! And He can help us change every step of the way!

He Lives!
Fritchen Shimai

Leave a Reply

